top of page
  • Lior Edrich

Movie Review: Into the Woods

The movie Into The Woods is about a baker and his childless wife as a result of a witch’s curse. They have 3 days before the rise of the blue moon to venture into the woods to find the ingredients to reverse the witch’s spell. The movie includes classic stories such as the baker and his wife, Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Rapunzel, and Little Red Riding Hood. The musical was composed by Steven Sondheim and stars Meryl Streep, James Corden, Anna Kendrick, Emily Blunt.


I immensely enjoyed this movie since it was reminiscent of my middle school days. The songs were really good, especially the very first song (which is 14 minutes long). My one criticism is that the movie is too long. Rather than making it over two hours, they could have stopped it at an hour and a half, when we thought the movie was actually going to finish. They added an extra conflict towards the end of the movie that seemed out of place, in my opinion. If they were trying to teach some lesson, it did not come across. In fact, it left me very confused.


In the end, I’d rate this movie an 8/10. The music was very good and I still have “On The Steps of the Palace” stuck in my head. All in all, the story started off strong and ended flat.

12 views0 comments

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page