top of page
  • Hanna Mordekai

Power

“Be the change you want to see in the world” is a quote I often believe is misinterpreted. How would one think they can be the change they want to see? By having the power to make the world see what they see. With a such large divide in the world right now, I think it is good to try to understand why these things happen. I believe it starts with the inability to understand people who think differently than you and the desire to have enough power to either control said people or to sway said people. I can assure that in any large worldly argument, there were geniuses and idiots on both side. Not only that, I can assure you there were good and bad hearted people on both sides. So what someone “believe” clearly does not have everything to do with who they are. More than your internal character, it is based off every aspect of your influencers. Every day since we were born we were told what is good and what was bad, meanwhile we didn’t realize until we got older that there is even an argument about that. This is what leads to the belief that “I could do the right thing better than you”. And this is what leads for the desire for power. I think the same human craving for power exists just as much in us today as it did in “more evil” times. This power is just transferred into the eagerness to gain enough power to make people believe what we want them to believe. And this is what leads to a one sided culture.

“Be the change you want to see in the world” is a quote I believe is often misinterpreted. Notice how I said “I believe”, when usually an English teacher would tell me that is incorrect, because talking in first person weakens your argument, and makes it less powerful, less swaying. How can one be the change they want to see in the world? By being the change they want to be. If the world is one sided against what you believe, you should want to change it by making the world on your side, right? No, (in my opinion). Because that is not change. If the world is one sided against you, listen to that one side. Have the power not to change the world to what you have grown up to believe, but have the power to listen with a vulnerable mind to hear the exact opposite.

So that is why I am here writing this article. I am writing to the students and faculty of North Shore Hebrew Academy, where I won’t get expelled, or my grade lowered, or fired for. Not because the people in charge don’t have the power to, but they have the power to listen.

Be the change you want to see in the world.

I believe: Don’t change, be the change.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page